Scientific Panels

The aims of the Scientific Panels are:

  • to co-ordinate clinical research at a European level;
  • to disseminate good neurological practice throughout European countries;
  • to assist the Programme Committee in organising congresses 
  • to assist the EAN in training neurologists and in supporting continuing medical education; and
  • to produce guidelines according to the latest scientific and evidence levels.

In order to achieve these aims Scientific Panels have the following terms of reference:

  • to form a panel with one member from each European National Neurological Society which is willing to provide a nominee with expertise in the relevant specialty. Members form the National Societies are re-appointed every two years. In addition, every Full, Corresponding and Resident individual member can become a member of the Scientific Panels. Membership duration is unlimited for individual panel members.
  • to have a management group, consisting of 3-6 Panel members and led by the Panel chaipersons.  The term of a member on the management group is limited to a maximum of 6 years (3 x 2 years). The duration of the mandate of the Chairperson and the Co-chairperson is 2 years, with the possibility of re-election once.

Financial support to Scientific Panels will only be given in accordance with the rules for financial support.

Panel Members can communicate with the co-chairs and colleaques via GoToMeeting in MyEAN. In MyEAN members can work on projects together, both private and public.

Scientific Panel members download submission forms for Neurology Updates, Scales and Scores and Registrar's Reading List here, please sign in to access the forms.

Individual Panel Membership

Application and admission procedure:

RRFS members who are interested in joining a panel, please click here.

Scientific Panel proposal

To propose a Scientific Panel, please click here.