There is an increasing awareness in many countries that headache constitutes a major public health problem. The one-year prevalence rate for headache and migraine adults is around 50 % with a life-time prevalence of more than 90 %. Migraine is the most prevalent neurological disorder with more than 50 million sufferers in Europe. Severe migraine is ranked in the highest disability class and the estimated cost of migraine is € 27 billion per year in Europe. Headache is an important and developing field of neurology that deals with all aspects of diagnosis, treatment and public health related to headache. The EAN Scientific Panel on Headache is dedicated to coordinate headache research and treatment guidelines within the neurological societies in Europe.

The main objective of the EAN Scientific Panel on Headache is to:

  • promote knowledge on the pathophysiology and treatment of headaches.
  • increase awareness of headaches in the medical community and in the public.

The EAN Scientific Panel on Headache will address European consensus for:

  • A synopsis of the national treatment recommendations for idiopathic headache disorders in Europe.
  • The treatment of headaches with botulinum toxin.
  • Revision and updates on guidelines for the management of migraine; management of chronic daily headache; management of cluster headache; management of trigeminal neuralgia and the standard of care in headache medicine including headache clinics.
  • Awareness and management of medication overuse.

For any information, questions, and suggestions please contact the chairperson or her secretary.

Management Group

Irimia, Pablo


Irimia, Pablo
Pamplona, Spain
Mitsikostas, Dimos-Dimitrios


Mitsikostas, Dimos-Dimitrios (MD, PhD, Assoc Prof, FEAN)
Athens, Greece
Braschinsky, Mark

Management Group Member

Braschinsky, Mark (MD, PhD)
Tartu, Estonia
Evers, Stefan

Management Group Member

Evers, Stefan (MD Prof, FEAN)
Münster, Germany
Lampl, Christian

EHF representative

Lampl, Christian (MD, Prof)
Linz, Austria

Management Group Member

Osipova, Vera (MD, Prof)
Moscow, Russian Federation
Puledda, Francesca

RRFS Representative

Puledda, Francesca (Dr)
London, United Kingdom

Individual panel members

Ashina, Messoud
Ashina, Messoud (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Glostrup, Denmark
Bermejo Velasco, Pedro Emilio
Bermejo Velasco, Pedro Emilio (MD, PhD)
Leganes, Spain
Chabriat, Hugues
Chabriat, Hugues (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Paris, France
Deligianni, Christina (MD)
Athens, Greece
Demarin, Vida
Demarin, Vida (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Zagreb, Croatia
ELSherif, Mohammed
ELSherif, Mohammed (MD,PhD, Dr)
Mansoura, Egypt
Evers, Stefan
Evers, Stefan (MD Prof, FEAN)
Münster, Germany
Fronczek, Rolf
Fronczek, Rolf (MD, PhD)
Leiden, The Netherlands
Gil-Gouveia, Raquel
Gil-Gouveia, Raquel (MD, PhD)
Oeiras, Portugal
González-Menacho, Jordi
González-Menacho, Jordi (Dr.)
Reus, Spain
Guerrero Peral, Angel Luis
Guerrero Peral, Angel Luis (MD; PhD)
Valladolid, Spain
Janculjak, Davor
Janculjak, Davor (MD, Prof.)
Osijek, Croatia
Karagiorgis, Georgios
Karagiorgis, Georgios (MD)
Athens, Greece
Kruja, Jera
Kruja, Jera (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Tirana, Albania
Lebedeva, Elena R.
Lebedeva, Elena R. (MD, PhD, DMedSci, Prof, FEAN)
Yekaterinburg, Russian Federation
Lušić, Ivo
Lušić, Ivo (Tenured Professor, MD, PhD)
Split, Croatia
Olesen, Jes
Olesen, Jes (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Glostrup/Copenhagen, Denmark
Paemeleire, Koen
Paemeleire, Koen (Prof. Dr.)
Ghent, Belgium
Porta-Etessam, Jesús
Porta-Etessam, Jesús (MD, PhD, Assoc Prof, FEAN)
Madrid, Spain
Rocca, Maria Assunta
Rocca, Maria Assunta (MD)
Milano, Italy
Schankin, Christoph
Schankin, Christoph
Bern, Switzerland
Schytz, Henrik Winther
Schytz, Henrik Winther (MD)
Glostrup, Denmark
Siva, Aksel
Siva, Aksel (MD, Prof, FEAN)
Istanbul, Turkey

RRFS Member

Apostolakopoulou, Loukia
Athens, Greece
Bratu, Ionut-Flavius
Bratu, Ionut-Flavius (MD)
Bucharest, Romania
Caronna, Edoardo
Caronna, Edoardo (MD)
Barcelona, Spain
del Pino de Laguno, Ignacio
del Pino de Laguno, Ignacio
Dominguez Moreno, Rogelio
Dominguez Moreno, Rogelio (MD)
Ciudad de Mexico, Mexico
García Azorín, David
García Azorín, David (MD)
Valladolid, Spain
Gomaa, Mohamed Zeinhom Mahmoud
Gomaa, Mohamed Zeinhom Mahmoud (MD)
kafr elsheikh, Egypt
Marchenko, Yelena
Marchenko, Yelena (MD)
Saint-Petersburg, Russian Federation
Mavridis, Theodoros
Mavridis, Theodoros (MD, MSc)
Athens, Greece
Messina, Roberta
Messina, Roberta (MD)
Milan, Italy
Paolucci, Matteo
Paolucci, Matteo (Dr)
Rome, Italy
Talavera De la Esperanza, Blanca
Talavera De la Esperanza, Blanca
Valladolid, Spain
Tiu, Vlad
Tiu, Vlad (Dr.)
Bucharest, Romania
Torrente, Angelo
Torrente, Angelo (Neurology student)
Palermo, Italy
Vigneri, Simone
Vigneri, Simone (MD, PhD)
Occhiobello, Italy

Partner Society Representatives

Roxas Jr., Artemio

AOAN Representative

Roxas Jr., Artemio
Manila, Philippines

Patient Representative

Ruiz la Torre, Elena

Patient representative

Ruiz la Torre, Elena
Valencia, Spain

Institutional panel members

Amin, Faisal Mohammad
Amin, Faisal Mohammad (MD, PhD. Associate Professor)
Glostrup, Denmark
Belvís Nieto, Roberto
Belvís Nieto, Roberto
Brössner, Gregor
Brössner, Gregor (Professor)
Innsbruck, Austria
Latina, Italy
Daniel, Oved
Daniel, Oved (MD)
Pardesiya, Israel
Dolezil, David
Dolezil, David (MUDr)
Prague 10, Czech Republic
Domitrz, Izabela
Domitrz, Izabela (MD)
Warsaw, Poland
Donnet, Anne
Donnet, Anne (MD)
Eppinger, Sebastian
Eppinger, Sebastian
Graz, Austria
Fabjan, Andrej
Fabjan, Andrej (MD)
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Ferrari, Michel
Ferrari, Michel (MD)
Den Haag, The Netherlands
Förderreuther, Stefanie
Förderreuther, Stefanie (MD)
Munich, Germany
Freimane, Aija
Freimane, Aija (MD)
Valmiera, Latvia
Hojland Jensen, Rigmor
Hojland Jensen, Rigmor (MD, Prof)
Glostrup, Denmark
Huber, Frank
Huber, Frank (MD)
Ettelbruck, Luxembourg
Kamenova, Saltanat
Kamenova, Saltanat (MD, Prof)
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Karsan, Nazia
Karsan, Nazia (MD)
Frimley, United Kingdom
Luzeiro, Isabel
Luzeiro, Isabel
Meksa, Liga
Meksa, Liga (MD)
Riga, Latvia
Milanov, Ivan
Milanov, Ivan (MD, Prof)
Sofia, Bulgaria
Nagy, Ferenc
Nagy, Ferenc (MD)
Kaposvár, Hungary
Odobescu, Stela
Odobescu, Stela (MD, PhD, assoc professor)
Chisinau, Moldova
Osipova, Vera (MD, Prof)
Moscow, Russian Federation
Petravić, Damir (MD)
Zagreb, Croatia
Pohl, Heiko
Pohl, Heiko (Dr.)
Zürich, Switzerland
Polidar, Petr
Polidar, Petr (MD)
Pouyiouros, Costas
Pouyiouros, Costas (MD)
Radojicic, Aleksandra
Radojicic, Aleksandra (MD)
Belgrade, Serbia
Ryliskiene, Kristina
Ryliskiene, Kristina (MD, PhD)
Vilnius, Lithuania
Saip, Sabahattin
Saip, Sabahattin
Sandor, Peter
Sandor, Peter (MD, Prof)
Baden, Switzerland
Sinclair, Alexandra
Sinclair, Alexandra (MD)
Tajti, Janos
Tajti, Janos (MD, AssProf)
Szeged, Hungary
Tedeschi, Gioacchino
Tedeschi, Gioacchino (MD, Prof)
Napoli, Italy
Terwindt, Gisela
Terwindt, Gisela (MD)
Leiden, The Netherlands
Vainauskiene, Jurgita
Vainauskiene, Jurgita (MD)
Vilnius, Lithuania
Valkovic, Peter
Valkovic, Peter (MD, PhD)
Bratislava, Slovakia
Versijpt, Jan
Versijpt, Jan (MD PhD, Prof)
Brussel, Belgium
Zidverc-Trajković, Jasna
Zidverc-Trajković, Jasna (MD, Prof)
Belgrade, Serbia