Moritz Romberg Lecture - Awardees

Pamela Shaw, Sheffield, United Kingdom

Moritz Romberg Lecture

Translational Neuroscience to improve outcomes for motor neuron disease. Are we winning?

Professor Dame Pamela Shaw, Professor of Neurology and Vice President and Pro-Vice Chancellor for the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health at the University of Sheffield and Founding Director of the Sheffield Institute for Translational Neuroscience (SITraN), one of the world-leading centres for motor neuron disease (MND) research. She is also Director of the Sheffield NIHR Biomedical Research Centre for Translational Neuroscience. The work of her team is focused on investigating molecular mechanisms of motor neuron injury and new therapeutic approaches in MND, both for neuroprotection and improved symptom management. Key recent achievements include: identification of new genetic subtypes of MND; improvements in symptomatic management of MND including non-invasive ventilation and the HeadUp collar; identification and implementation of new therapeutic targets for MND including evaluation of novel drug and gene therapy approaches and the development of innovative pre-clinical model systems for screening of therapeutic agents.

Jes Olesen, Copenhagen, Denmark

Moritz Romberg Lecture

Migraine mechanisms and new drug targets

Professor Olesen is Professor of Neurology, (Copenhagen, Denmark), dr. hon.c. (Rome, Italy), dr. hon.c.(Yekaterinburg, Russia), and fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (FRCP). Born on 9.9.1941 in Hobro, Denmark, Jes Olesen received his MD at the University of Copenhagen 1967. Further specialist education in neurology at major teaching hospitals in Copenhagen, the National Hospital, Queen Square, London, and the Cornell Medical Center, New York. Consultant neurologist at Gentofte Hospital 1985-1993, Glostrup Hospital 1993- . He is the founder Danish Headache Center 2001-Previous Associate Editor of Cephalalgia and Pain. He was Editorial board member of several journals and President of several Organisations, such as the Danish Headache Society, Scandinavian Migraine Society, International Headache Society, Danish Stroke Association, Year of the Brain 1997 campaign, European Federation of Neurological Societies (EFNS) and European Brain Council (EBC). Honorary member Australian, German, Austrian and International headache societies and of the Austrian, French, British, German and Polish Neurological Societies and of European Federation of Neurological Associations (EFNA) and EAN (as former EFNS President). He received the Great Nordic Research Prize of the Lundbeck Foundation and many other national and international prizes. Citations: Google Scholar 50673 H-Factor: Google Scholar 113, i/10-index: Google Scholar 539. 525 articles in refereed journals, 235 book chapters, 33 books. Has supervised 16 doctoral and 25 Ph.D. dissertations.

Christian E. Elger, Bonn, Germany

Moritz Romberg Lecture
Epilepsy: Where do we stand? Where are we headed?

Prof. Christian E. Elger is Professor of Epileptology and director of the department of epileptology at the University of Bonn, Germany.  The epilepsy center has one of the most active epilepsy surgery programs within Europe.  Dr Elger is renowned for his role in studying seizure prediction and his work within the field of epilepsy and cognition.  He helped develop pre-surgical evaluation techniques which enable the prediction of postsurgical cognitive outcome.  His vision helped found the Center for Economics and Neuroscience in Bonn. He is widely published in highly-ranked journals and has also served as Associate Editor for Brain and Epilepsy and Behavior. In 2005, Dr. Elger received the Zülch Prize from the Max-Planck-Foundation for his scientific studies in experimental epilepsy research and cognition. The ILAE (International League Against Epilepsy) granted him the Ambassador of Epilepsy award. In 2010, he received the Hans-Berger Award of the DGKN (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Klinische Neurophysiologie und Funktionelle Bildgebung) for merit within the field of electrophysiology in epilepsy. He was presented with The Victor and Clara Soriano Award at the 20th World Congress of Neurology Meeting in Marrakesh in 2011 and in 2012, the ILAE granted him the European Epileptology Award. In 2015, he received the William G. Lennox Award from the American Epilepsy Society.

Eduardo Tolosa Sarro, Barcelona, Spain

Moritz Romberg Lecture
The prediagnostic phase of Parkinson's disease

Prof. Eduardo Tolosa, earned his MD degree from the University of Barcelona, Spain. His neurological training was obtained at the University of Minnesota Hospital in Minneapolis. He was visiting scientist at Brookhaven National Hospital, between 1974 and 1975, and, subsequently, he joined the faculty of the Department of Neurology at the University of Minnesota. He was later appointed chief of neurology at the University Hospital in Barcelona in 1982. Prof. Tolosa was certified as a neurologist by the American Board of Neurology and Psychiatry in 1976 and became a fellow in 1997.
He is a founding member of the Movement Disorder Society (MDS). He has been president of the MDS and president of the ENS. Prof. Tolosa is an honorary member of several neurological societies, including the British Neurological Association and the French Neurological Society.
Field of research: movement disorders and particularly in issues related to experimental therapeutics, etiology and pathophysiology of various parkinsonisms. His team has investigated the clinical and molecular genetics of Parkinson’s disease and progressive supranuclear palsy. In the areas of experimental therapeutics, Prof. Tolosa was involved in pioneer studies defining mechanisms underlying levodopa-related motor fluctuations, both in patients and in pre-clinical models of parkinsonism. His team has been among the first in Europe to evaluate efficacy of novel surgical strategies for Parkinson’s disease such as subthalamic nucleus stimulation and its impact upon patients cognition and quality of life. In addition, during the last years, he has dedicated his investigations to the study of the asymptomatic individuals carrying PD-causative mutations in the LRRK2 gene.