## **The Presidents**





2008\_ Gustave Moonen 2009 - 2014 Secretary General Liège, Belgium

## I. Reasons for joining the ENS

I have been in contact with the ENS since its early beginning as my mentor Professor Georges Franck was invited by Professor Gérard Said to become a founding member of the executive committee in the early days of the ENS.At that time, ENS was the only European neurological society. Years later, after I took over the chairmanship of the Department of Neurology in Liège, I was very happy and proud to join the ENS executive committee and this has been one of the best experience in my professional career.

## 2. On the values and missions of the ENS

Clearly, most important was the top quality level of the symposia and teaching courses during the annual meetings. The ENS was also open to young neurologists including supporting through fellowships those who were involved in research. Finally, I want to stress the spirit of friendship that united all the people concerned with the ENS organization.

## 3. Important achievements during my presidency

I have been a member of the executive committee since 2000, was elected president in 2007 and I had the privilege to be the successor of Gérard Said as secretary general in 2009. Gérard has been the spirit of ENS during two decades. Slowly, I realized that there was no future for the coexistence of two neurological societies in Europe and that the neurological Europe had to have a single voice. The collaboration with the EFNS had begun several years before when both societies were invited to contribute to the annual examination organized by the European Board Examination in Neurology (EBN-UEMS). The next collaboration was with e-Brain. Finally, together with my friend Jacques De Reuck, then president of the EFNS, we decided to begin discussion on the integration of both societies. We had an equal to equal partners discussion and could finally succeed because the vast majority of European neurologists shared that view. The transient task force appointed by both societies was the key structure to achieve that goal within 4 years. Its six members became friends and that was one reason for succeeding. The presidents of the ENS (José Ferro, Zohar Argov, Hans Reichmann and Claudio Bassetti) and the president of the EFNS (Richard Hughes) have played key roles during that process as did the administrative directors Sabine Adam for the ENS and Lisa Mueller for the EFNS. We all are proud and happy that EAN is born. To come back to the question, the most important achievement was to have the opportunity to work within a team that made EAN possible.